Have a current diagnosis of a qualifying condition
Hold an official written certification from a physician
Be a Mississippi resident with proof of residency
You must be 18 years of age or older
MS Marijuanas Legalized
Mississippi has made legal the use of cannabis for medical patients who meet the 22 debilitating medical conditions. In February 2022, The Mississippi State Legislature passed the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act which established the first medical cannabis program in Mississippi.
The new bill reflects several key features of Initiative 65, which was approved by more than 74% of Mississippi voters last November, including broad access for patients, decision rights for certifying healthcare providers, a free market, and sustainable revenue models and reasonable regulations.
Jackson marijuana dispensaries will open around the end of 2022, with current estimates aiming at November or December 2022.
Yes, Mississippi uses the term Treatment Center instead of dispensary, but they are the same thing. Mississippi patients will be able to purchase medical cannabis at any of the state-licensed dispensaries called ‘treatment centers’ once they are open to medical patients at the end of 2022.
Medical Marijuanas Dispensaries throughout MS have to go through a very stringent and long process with getting approval before opening up their doors to patients. Everyone that enters a Jackson MS marijuana dispensary will need to be approved, and registered, with the State by their physician prior to being allowed to purchase any medicinal cannabis products.
The prescribing physician will evaluate you and your specific eligibility, check any supporting medical paperwork you bring, and analyze your medical history.
Possession restrictions and purchase limits in Jackson MS are calculated based on Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units (MCEUs) instead of measurements such as grams and ounces. You may not possess more than 28 MCEUs of cannabis or cannabis-based products at a time. This is equal to 98 grams, which is less than 3.5 ounces of dried cannabis flower.
This means that you can purchase in a day up to 3.5 grams of flower, one- 100mg THC infused product, or one product containing 1 gram of cannabis concentrates.
Additionally, you are restricted to the following purchase guidelines:
In addition to possession and purchase limits, the following limitations also apply to medical cannabis program patients:
*Landlords are not prohibited from banning tenants from using medicinal cannabis at home.
Currently, patients can purchase cannabis oil containing only 0.5% THC under Harper Grace’s Law. When patients are able to apply to the new medical program and dispensaries are available, cannabis flower must not exceed 30% of THC levels and tinctures, oils, and concentrates may not exceed 60% THC. Additionally, all cannabis products from a dispensary must have a “notice of harm” marked on the packaging.
Your cannabis certification is good for a year. The certification shall remain current for twelve months, unless the physician dictates a shorter time period, and shall be issued only after an in-person examination of the patient in Jackson Mississippi.
A patient with a diagnosis of a debilitating condition and a medicinal cannabis card from their home state can apply for a nonresident ID card up to 30 days before they arrive in Mississippi. The cards are valid for 15 days and can be renewed, though only for a total of two 15-day periods every 365 days.
Nonresidents can purchase the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 12 days in a 15-day period. They can possess a maximum of 49 grams.
Patients or caretakers will not be allowed to grow their own cannabis in Mississippi when the program begins.
MDOH will set up rules for testing cannabis. Most states test for mold, pesticides, residual solvents, and other harmful substances.
It will be safe to purchase cannabis at dispensaries in Jackson MS once MDOR has begun issuing licenses.
Patients can purchase the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 24 days in a 30-day period.
Smoking, dabbing, or vaping in public or in a vehicle is prohibited. MMJ cardholders can only use their cannabis in a private residence. It is against the law to consume it in public. It is unlawful for any person to smoke medicinal cannabis in a public place. Any person who violates this subsection may, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).
The 22 debilitating medical conditions in Mississippi approved under the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act include:
Chronic, terminal or debilitating disease or medical condition, or its treatment, that produces one or more of the following:
To get a medical card in Jackson MS , qualifying patients must obtain a recommendation from licensed Mississippi medicinal cannabis physician, and register with the state. Once a state-issued medicinal cannabis card has been obtained, a registered patient may purchase and possess up to 3.5 ounces of cannabis per month.
By November or December of 2022, qualifying residents in Mississippi will be able to apply to receive a medicinal cannabis card, and can then use their card to purchase medicinal cannabis products at licensed Jackson MS cannabis dispensaries.
No. In order to legally purchase medicinal cannabis products in the state of Mississippi, you must be certified by a qualified medical marijuana doctor in Jackson MS to legally access and purchase from dispensaries here.
No, you cannot own a gun in Mississippi if you are a registered medicinal cannabis user. While medicinal cannabis is legal for medicinal use in MS, it still remains illegal at the federal level as of September 2022. As such, anyone in MS with a license to use cannabis is not allowed to possess or purchase firearms and ammunition.
Mississippi Medical Marijuanas Cards Cost $25 + Physician Fees.
Once your physician verifies you qualify for the medicinal cannabis card, they will register you for the medicinal cannabis program after you have been certified. This entitles you to an identity card from the MSDH. The medical card costs $25.
Patients with MSDH’s approval can purchase cannabis from a licensed medicinal marijuana treatment center (dispensary).
Your cannabis certification is good for a year. The certification shall remain current for twelve months, unless the physician specifies a shorter period of time, and shall be issued only after an in-person examination of the patient in Mississippi.
Mississippi has no limitations for patients on probation or parole; however, you must first get approval from your probation or parole officer before applying for a medicinal cannabis card.
If you live in Jackson MS and have any of the 22 debilitating medical conditions approved by Mississippi, for which feel you that might benefit from medicinal marijuana cannabis use, you are most likely eligible.
If you are interested in speaking with a physician licensed by the State to prescribe medicinal cannabis, you can find the nearest medical cannabis doctor in Jackson MS near you here.
No, since you are a medical patient, you are covered by HIPAA. No one will be able to determine your status as a medicinal cannabis patient unless you publicly inform them or are subjected to a cannabis drug test.
No. Unfortunately, as of September 2022, medicinal cannabis is still not Federally legal. As such, insurance companies will not cover any of the associated costs at this time. With Federal legalization not too far off though, this could definitely be a possibility in the future once recreational use is approved on the Federal level in the U.S.
You cannot arrange an appointment with our healthcare providers at this time, but you can join our waitlist to be notified when we are taking appointments.
Each assessment appointment will vary on a case-by-case basis, and will be dependent on your medical history, the amount of supporting documents you bring, etc. However, the average appointment will typically last around 15-20 minutes.
No. In order to certify patients for a medical marijuana card in Jackson MS, healthcare providers must have a valid license to practice medicine in Mississippi and be registered and approved by the State to provide cannabis specific treatment.
Legal medicinal cannabis patients in Jackson MS will be allowed to purchase medicinal cannabis products from any licensed dispensary in the state. They will also be allowed to use their card in states that grant reciprocity.
Only you and your medicinal cannabis physician who certifies you will know that you are a Jackson MS medicinal cannabis patient, as this is protected under HIPAA. It is under the discretion of your employer to drug test, and will ultimately be their say if they recognize your medical card as a form of medication.
The Mississippi Medical Marijuana Initiative 65 does not affect an employer’s ability to restrict the use of medicinal cannabis by employees. You can still be fired for cannabis consumption if your job prohibits it. Please confirm with your employer’s rules concerning the use of medicinal cannabis for their employees.
Yes. Because Mississippi is an at-will state and there is presently no law in place to safeguard medicinal cannabis users in the workplace, medical cardholders may still be subjected to drug tests and face disciplinary action based on the findings of such tests. As a result, before proceeding with the procedure, we urge that you be completely informed of your employer’s policies on drug testing and medicinal cannabis.
You are protected as a licensed medicinal cannabis patient. Patients are not required to report their possession of medicinal cannabis and are not required to agree to a search. If a search is undertaken and medicinal cannabis is discovered, the patient must immediately provide their patient ID card or lead law enforcement to the state database to demonstrate that they are a licensed patient.
Yes. Medical cannabis is treated the same as alcohol use in the eyes of the law. Anyone who is caught under the influence of medicinal cannabis while operating or being in physical control of any motor vehicle, train, aircraft, motorboat, or other motorized forms of transportation while under the influence of cannabis, could face criminal offenses as it is still illegal under the current law.
A caregiver is a person aged 21 or older who is selected by the patient as someone who is authorized to obtain and possess medicinal cannabis from state-licensed Jackson MS cannabis dispensaries on behalf of the patient, as well as provide assistance with the administration of the patient medication.
Caregivers must be 21 or older, be a resident of Mississippi, and register online with the state after the patient is approved for their medical card. Also one who complies with the regulations prescribed by the department, and who assists with a qualified patient’s use of medicinal cannabis. A caregiver is prohibited from consuming medicinal cannabis provided for use by a qualified patient.
Currently at this time, there has not been a set limit but, the department may limit the number of qualified patients a caregiver may assist at any one time.
Currently at this time there is not a limit set yet. A qualified patient may have more than one caregiver. Though the state of Mississippi has the right / may allow for more or less caregivers in the future.
Patients are able to designate a caregiver to help them with getting their medicinal cannabis from a dispensary in Jackson MS. If you need more than one caregiver, you must submit information documenting that more caregivers are needed due to the patient’s age or medical condition.
According to the MSDOH, caregivers must be 21 or older unless they are the parent or guardian of a medicinal cannabis patient who is a minor. Caregivers also may not have certain prior felonies or convictions. Felonies and convictions that can disqualify you from becoming a caregiver include:
A caregiver application fee will be applied and cost $25 a year. The background check that is part of the requirements for a caretaker will cost the applicant $37.
Medical cannabis is the use of cannabis plants and chemicals to treat certain conditions. It is basically the same thing as recreational marijuana, but for medicinal. The cannabis plant has more than 100 cannabinoids, and each one has a different impact on the body.
Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD) are the main chemicals used in cannabis medicine, as THC produces the “high” that people feel when they smoke or consume cannabis, meanwhile CBD does not give the user the experience of being “high”.
Cannabinoids are the active chemicals in medicinal cannabis. They are similar to the chemicals your own body makes which affect appetite, memory, motion, and pain.
Research suggests cannabinoids might:
A few years ago,medicinal cannabis gained much attention because parents discovered that medicinal cannabis could help control severe seizures in their kids. The FDA even recently approved Epidiolex, which is made from CBD, as a therapy for people with very severe or hard-to-treat seizures. Some people experienced a dramatic decrease in seizures after taking the cannabinoid-based drug.