Medical Marijuanas Card Hattiesburg MS

Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act

MS Marijuanas Has Been Legalized

Mississippi has legalized the use of marijuanas for medical patients who meet the 22 debilitating medical conditions. In February 2022, The Mississippi State Legislature passed the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act which established the first medical marijuanas program in Mississippi.

The new bill reflects several key features of Initiative 65, which was approved by more than 74% of Mississippi voters last November, including broad access for patients, decision rights for certifying doctors, a free market, and sustainable revenue models and reasonable regulations.

Table of Contents

What Are The 22 Debilitating Medical Conditions In Mississippi?

The 22 debilitating medical conditions in Mississippi approved under the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act include:

Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Marijuanas Cards In Hattiesburg Mississippi

To get a medical card in Hattiesburg Mississippi , qualifying patients must obtain a recommendation from licensed Mississippi medicinal marijuanas healthcare provider, and register with the state. Once a state-issued medicinal marijuanas card has been obtained, a registered patient may buy and possess up to 3.5 ounces of marijuanas per month. 

Mississippi Medicinal Marijuanas Cards Cost $25 + Physician Fees.

Once your healthcare provider verifies you qualify for the medicinal marijuanas card, they will register you for the medicinal cannabis program after you have been certified. This entitles you to an identity card from the MSDH. The medical card costs $25.

Patients with MSDH’s approval can purchase marijuanas from a licensed medicinal marijuanas treatment center (dispensary).

No, since you are a medical patient, you are covered by HIPAA. No one will be able to determine your status as a medicinal marijuanas patient unless you publicly inform them or are subjected to a marijuanas drug test.

By November or December of 2022, qualifying residents in Mississippi will be able to apply to receive a medicinal marijuanas card, and can then use their card to buy medicinal marijuanas products at licensed Hattiesburg Mississippi marijuanas dispensaries.

No. In order to legally buy medicinal marijuanas products in the state of Mississippi, you must be certified by a qualified medical marijuanas healthcare provider in Mississippi to legally access and buy from dispensaries here.

No, you cannot own a gun in Mississippi if you are a registered medicinal marijuanas user. While medicinal marijuanas is legal for medicinal use in Mississippi, it still remains illegal at the federal level as of September 2022. As such, anyone in MS with a license to use marijuanas is not allowed to possess or buy firearms and ammunition.

Your marijuanas certification is good for a year. The certification shall remain current for twelve months, unless the healthcare provider specifies a shorter period of time, and shall be issued only after an in-person examination of the patient in Mississippi.

No states currently provide reciprocity for Mississippi  medicinal marijuanas users; however, this may change once the program is fully operational.

Mississippi has no limitations for patients on probation or parole; however, you must first get approval from your probation or parole officer before applying for a medicinal marijuanas card.

Possession restrictions and purchase limits in Hattiesburg MS are calculated based on Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units (MCEUs) instead of measurements such as grams and ounces. You may not possess more than 28 MCEUs of cannabis or cannabis-based products at a time. This is equal to 98 grams, which is less than 3.5 ounces of dried marijuanas flower.

Essentially you can buy in a single day up to 3.5 grams of flower, one- 100mg THC infused product, or one product containing 1 gram of marijuanas concentrates. 

Additionally, you are restricted to the following purchase guidelines:

  • Patients cannot buy more than six MCEUs in a week (which is approximately 21 grams, or less than ¾ of an ounce of dried flower)
  • Patients cannot buy more than 24 MCEUs in a week (which is approximately 84 grams, or less than three ounces of dried flower)
  • Patients cannot buy more than 24 MCEUs in a week (which is approximately 84 grams, or less than three ounces of dried flower)

In addition to possession and purchase limits, the following limitations also apply to medical marijuanas program patients:

  • Patients cannot smoke or vaporize in vehicles or public places.
  • You may not drive, operate a boat, train, or aircraft, or undertake any task that would be negligent or entail professional malpractice while under the influence of marijuanas.

*Landlords are not prohibited from banning tenants from using medicinal marijuanas at home.

Medical Marijuanas Possession & Purchase Limits

Potency Restrictions

Currently, patients can buy cannabis oil containing only 0.5% THC under Harper Grace’s Law. When patients are able to apply to the new medical program and dispensaries are available, cannabis flower must not exceed 30% of THC levels and tinctures, oils, and concentrates may not exceed 60% THC. Additionally, all marijuanas products from a dispensary must have a “notice of harm” marked on the packaging.

How Long Will My Marijuanas Card Certification Be Valid?

Your marijuanas certification is good for a year. The certification shall remain current for twelve months, unless the healthcare provider specifies a shorter time period, and shall be issued only after an in-person examination of the patient in Hattiesburg Mississippi.

Reciprocity

A patient with a diagnosis of a debilitating condition and a medicinal marijuanas card from their home state can apply for a nonresident ID card up to 30 days before they arrive in Mississippi. The cards are valid for 15 days and can be renewed, though only for a total of two 15-day periods every 365 days.

Nonresidents can buy the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 12 days in a 15-day period. They can possess a maximum of 49 grams.  

Cultivation Rules

Patients or caretakers will not be allowed to grow their own marijuanas in Mississippi when the program begins.

Lab testing

MDOH will set up rules for testing marijuanas. Most states test for mold, pesticides, residual solvents, and other harmful substances.

Where is it safe to buy marijuanas in Hattiesburg MS?

It will be safe to buy at marijuanas dispensaries in Hattiesburg Mississippi once MDOR has begun issuing licenses.

Patients can buy the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 24 days in a 30-day period. 

Where is it safe to consume?

Smoking, dabbing, or vaping in public or in a vehicle is prohibited. MMJ cardholders can only use their marijuanas in a private residence. It is against the law to consume it in public. It is unlawful for any person to smoke medicinal marijuanas in a public place. Any person who violates this subsection may, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).

Find Out More About Hattiesburg Mississippi Marijuanas Cards

Frequently Asked Questions About Medicinal Marijuanas Doctors

If you live in Hattiesburg Mississippi and have any of the 22 debilitating medical conditions approved by Mississippi, for which feel you that might benefit from medicinal marijuanas cannabis use, you are most likely eligible.

If you are interested in speaking with a healthcare provider licensed by the State to prescribe medicinal marijuanas, you can find the nearest medical marijuanas doctor in Hattiesburg Mississippi near you here.

When meeting with a medical marijuanas healthcare provider in Mississippi, you should bring:

1. A valid picture ID

2. Proof to verify your debilitating or chronic qualifying medical condition is required. The more verifiable proof you can bring, the better. Som things you should try to bring with you include:

  • medical records
  • medicine bottles
  • office visit summaries
  • or a note from your primary care doctor

 

However, you can still obtain certification if you don’t have any current medical documents. Your prescribing healthcare provider will be able to go over alternatives with you during your consultation.

No. Unfortunately, as of September 2022, medicinal marijuanas is still not Federally legal. As such, insurance companies will not cover any of the associated costs at this time. With Federal legalization not too far off though, this could definitely be a possibility in the future once recreational use is approved on the Federal level in the U.S.

You cannot arrange an appointment with our doctors at this time, but you can join our waitlist to be notified when we are taking appointments.

The prescribing healthcare provider will evaluate you and your specific eligibility, check any supporting medical paperwork you bring, and analyze your medical history.

Each assessment appointment will vary on a case-by-case basis, and will be dependent on your medical history, the amount of supporting documents you bring, etc. However, the average appointment will typically last around 15-20 minutes.

No. In order to certify patients for a medical marijuanas card in Hattiesburg Mississippi, healthcare providers must have a valid license to practice medicine in Mississippi and be registered and approved by the State to provide marijuanas specific treatment.

Legal medicinal marijuanas patients in Hattiesburg Mississippi will be allowed to buy medicinal marijuanas products from any licensed dispensary in the state. They will also be allowed to use their card in states that grant reciprocity.

Employment And Medicinal Marijuanas

Only you and your medicinal marijuanas healthcare provider who certifies you will know that you are a Hattiesburg Mississippi medicinal marijuanas patient, as this is protected under HIPAA. It is under the discretion of your employer to drug test, and will ultimately be their say if they recognize your medical card as a form of medication.

The Mississippi Medical Marijuana Initiative 65 does not affect an employer’s ability to restrict the use of medicinal marijuanas by employees. You can still be fired for cannabis consumption if your job prohibits it. Please confirm with your employer’s rules concerning the use of medicinal marijuanas for their employees.

Yes. Because Mississippi is an at-will state and there is presently no law in place to safeguard medicinal marijuanas users in the workplace, medical cardholders may still be subjected to drug tests and face disciplinary action based on the findings of such tests. As a result, before proceeding with the procedure, we urge that you be completely informed of your employer’s policies on drug testing and medicinal marijuanas.

Hattiesburg Mississippi Medicinal Marijuanas Caregiver FAQ & Rules

A caregiver is a person aged 21 or older who is selected by the patient as someone who is authorized to obtain and possess medicinal marijuanas from state-licensed Hattiesburg Mississippi marijuanas dispensaries on behalf of the patient, as well as provide assistance with the administration of the patient medication.

Caregivers must be 21 or older, be a resident of MS, and register online with the state after the patient is approved for their medical card. Also one who complies with the regulations prescribed by the department, and who assists with a qualified patient’s use of medicinal marijuanas. A caregiver is prohibited from consuming medicinal marijuanas provided for use by a qualified patient.

Currently at this time, there has not been a set limit but, the department may limit the number of qualified patients a caregiver may assist at any one time.

Currently at this time there is not a limit set yet. A qualified patient may have more than one caregiver. Though the state of Mississippi has the right / may allow for more or less caregivers in the future.

Patients are able to designate a caregiver to help them with getting their medicinal marijuanas from a dispensary in Hattiesburg Mississippi. If you need more than one caregiver, you must submit information documenting that more caregivers are needed due to the patient’s age or medical condition. 

According to the MSDOH, caregivers must be 21 or older unless they are the parent or guardian of a medicinal marijuanas patient who is a minor. Caregivers also may not have certain prior felonies or convictions. Felonies and convictions that can disqualify you from becoming a caregiver include:

  •  A conviction for a crime of violence according to MS law.
  • A conviction for a crime that is defined as violent by law in the jurisdiction that the offense was committed in.
  • A conviction or felony for violating any federal or state substances law including any probation, incarceration, or supervised release within the past five years.
  •  Though these are not currently detailed out, in most states this usually includes drug possession or distribution charges. Caregivers can assist no more that five patients at a time unless the caregiver works at a health facility or similar institution that provides care to patients.

A caregiver application fee will be applied and cost $25 a year. The background check that is part of the requirements for a caretaker will cost the applicant $37.

What Is Medicinal Marijuanas?

Medical Marijuanas Card Hattiesburg Mississippi

​Medical marijuanas is the use of marijuanas plants and chemicals to treat certain conditions. It is basically the same thing as recreational marijuana, but for medicinal. The cannabis plant has more than 100 cannabinoids, and each one has a different impact on the body.

Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD) are the main chemicals used in marijuanas medicine, as THC produces the “high” that people feel when they smoke or consume marijuanas, meanwhile CBD does not give the user the experience of being “high”.