Mississippi Marijuanas Legalized
Mississippi has made legal the use of cannabis for medical patients who meet the 22 debilitating medical conditions. In February 2022, The Mississippi State Legislature passed the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act which established the first medical cannabis program in Mississippi.
The new bill reflects several key features of Initiative 65, which was approved by more than 74% of Mississippi voters last November, including broad access for patients, decision rights for certifying physicians, a free market, and sustainable revenue models and reasonable regulations.
The 22 debilitating medical conditions in Mississippi approved under the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act include:
Chronic, terminal or debilitating disease or medical condition, or its treatment, that produces one or more of the following:
To get a medical card in Southaven MS , qualifying patients must obtain a recommendation from licensed Mississippi medical cannabis physician, and register with the state. Once a state-issued medical cannabis card has been obtained, a registered patient may buy and possess up to 3.5 ounces of cannabis per month.
Mississippi Medicinal Marijuanas Cards Cost $25 + Physician Fees.
Once your physician verifies you qualify for the medical cannabis card, they will register you for the medicinal cannabis program after you have been certified. This entitles you to an identity card from the MSDH. The medical card costs $25.
Patients with MSDH’s approval can purchase cannabis from a licensed medical marijuanas treatment center (dispensary).
No, since you are a medical patient, you are covered by HIPAA. No one will be able to determine your status as a medical cannabis patient unless you publicly inform them or are subjected to a cannabis drug test.
No. In order to legally buy medical cannabis products in the state of Mississippi, you must be certified by a qualified medical marijuanas physician in MS to legally access and buy from dispensaries here.
No, you cannot own a gun in Mississippi if you are a registered medical cannabis user. While medical cannabis is legal for medicinal use in MS, it still remains illegal at the federal level as of September 2022. As such, anyone in MS with a license to use cannabis is not allowed to possess or buy firearms and ammunition.
Your cannabis certification is good for a year. The certification shall remain current for twelve months, unless the physician specifies a shorter period of time, and shall be issued only after an in-person examination of the patient in Mississippi.
Mississippi has no limitations for patients on probation or parole; however, you must first get approval from your probation or parole officer before applying for a medical cannabis card.
Possession restrictions and purchase limits in Southaven Mississippi are calculated based on Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units (MCEUs) instead of measurements such as grams and ounces. You may not possess more than 28 MCEUs of cannabis or cannabis-based products at one time. This is equal to 98 grams, which is less than 3.5 ounces of dried cannabis flower.
What this means is, you can buy in a day up to 3.5 grams of flower, one- 100mg THC infused product, or one product containing 1 gram of cannabis concentrates.
Additionally, you are restricted to the following purchase guidelines:
In addition to possession and purchase limits, the following limitations also apply to medical cannabis program patients:
*Landlords are not prohibited from banning tenants from using medical cannabis at home.
Currently, patients can buy cannabis oil containing only 0.5% THC under Harper Grace’s Law. When patients are able to apply to the new medical program and dispensaries are available, cannabis flower must not exceed 30% of THC levels and tinctures, oils, and concentrates may not exceed 60% THC. Additionally, all cannabis products from a dispensary must have a “notice of harm” marked on the packaging.
A patient with a diagnosis of a debilitating condition and a medical cannabis card from their home state can apply for a nonresident ID card up to 30 days before they arrive in Mississippi. The cards are valid for 15 days and can be renewed, though only for a total of two 15-day periods every 365 days.
Nonresidents can buy the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 12 days in a 15-day period. They can possess a maximum of 49 grams.
Patients or caretakers will not be allowed to grow their own cannabis in Mississippi when the program begins.
MDOH will set up rules for testing cannabis. Most states test for mold, pesticides, residual solvents, and other harmful substances.
It will be safe to buy at cannabis dispensaries in Southaven MS once MDOR has begun issuing licenses.
Patients can buy the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 24 days in a 30-day period.
Smoking, dabbing, or vaping in public or in a vehicle is prohibited. MMJ cardholders can only use their cannabis in a private residence. It is against the law to consume it in public. It is unlawful for any person to smoke medical cannabis in a public place. Any person who violates this subsection may, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).
If you live in Southaven MS and have any of the 22 debilitating medical conditions approved by Mississippi, for which feel you that might benefit from medical marijuanas cannabis use, you are most likely eligible.
If you are interested in speaking with a physician licensed by the State to prescribe medical cannabis, you can find the nearest medical cannabis doctor in Southaven MS near you here.
When meeting with a medical cannabis physician in MS, you should bring:
1. A valid picture ID
2. Proof to verify your debilitating or chronic qualifying medical condition is required. The more verifiable proof you can bring, the better. Som things you should try to bring with you include:
However, you can still obtain certification if you don’t have any current medical documents. Your prescribing physician will be able to go over alternatives with you during your consultation.
No. Unfortunately, as of September 2022, medical cannabis is still not Federally legal. As such, insurance companies will not cover any of the associated costs at this time. With Federal legalization not too far off though, this could definitely be a possibility in the future once recreational use is approved on the Federal level in the U.S.
You cannot arrange an appointment with our physicians at this time, but you can join our waitlist to be notified when we are taking appointments.
Each assessment appointment will vary on a case-by-case basis, and will be dependent on your medical history, the amount of supporting documents you bring, etc. However, the average appointment will typically last around 15-20 minutes.
No. In order to certify patients for a medical marijuanas card in Southaven MS, healthcare providers must have a valid license to practice medicine in Mississippi and be registered and approved by the State to provide cannabis specific treatment.
Legal medical cannabis patients in Southaven MS will be allowed to buy medical cannabis products from any licensed dispensary in the state. They will also be allowed to use their card in states that grant reciprocity.
Only you and your medical cannabis physician who certifies you will know that you are a Southaven MS medical cannabis patient, as this is protected under HIPAA. It is under the discretion of your employer to drug test, and will ultimately be their say if they recognize your medical card as a form of medication.
The Mississippi Medical Marijuana Initiative 65 does not affect an employer’s ability to restrict the use of medical cannabis by employees. You can still be fired for cannabis consumption if your job prohibits it. Please confirm with your employer’s rules concerning the use of medical cannabis for their employees.
Yes. Because Mississippi is an at-will state and there is presently no law in place to safeguard medical cannabis users in the workplace, medical cardholders may still be subjected to drug tests and face disciplinary action based on the findings of such tests. As a result, before proceeding with the procedure, we urge that you be completely informed of your employer’s policies on drug testing and medical cannabis.
A caregiver is a person aged 21 or older who is selected by the patient as someone who is authorized to obtain and possess medical cannabis from state-licensed Southaven MS cannabis dispensaries on behalf of the patient, as well as provide assistance with the administration of the patient medication.
Caregivers must be 21 or older, be a resident of Mississippi, and register online with the state after the patient is approved for their medical card. Also one who complies with the regulations prescribed by the department, and who assists with a qualified patient’s use of medical cannabis. A caregiver is prohibited from consuming medical cannabis provided for use by a qualified patient.
Currently at this time, there has not been a set limit but, the department may limit the number of qualified patients a caregiver may assist at any one time.
Currently at this time there is not a limit set yet. A qualified patient may have more than one caregiver. Though the state of Mississippi has the right / may allow for more or less caregivers in the future.
Patients are able to designate a caregiver to help them with getting their medical cannabis from a dispensary in Southaven MS. If you need more than one caregiver, you must submit information documenting that more caregivers are needed due to the patient’s age or medical condition.
According to the MSDOH, caregivers must be 21 or older unless they are the parent or guardian of a medical cannabis patient who is a minor. Caregivers also may not have certain prior felonies or convictions. Felonies and convictions that can disqualify you from becoming a caregiver include:
A caregiver application fee will be applied and cost $25 a year. The background check that is part of the requirements for a caretaker will cost the applicant $37.
Medical cannabis is the use of cannabis plants and chemicals to treat certain conditions. It is basically the same thing as recreational marijuana, but for medical. The cannabis plant has more than 100 cannabinoids, and each one has a different impact on the body.
Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD) are the main chemicals used in cannabis medicine, as THC produces the “high” that people feel when they smoke or consume cannabis, meanwhile CBD does not give the user the experience of being “high”.