Mississippi Medical Marijuanas Card

Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act

Mississippi Marijuanas Legalized

Mississippi has legalized the use of marijuanas for medical patients who meet the 22 debilitating medical conditions. In February 2022, The Mississippi State Legislature passed the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act which established the first medical marijuanas program in Mississippi.

The new bill reflects key features of Initiative 65, which was approved by more than 74% of Mississippi voters last November, including broad access for patients, decision rights for certifying healthcare providers, a free market and sustainable revenue models and reasonable regulations.

Table of Contents

How to get a Medical Marijuana Card in Mississippi

When Can You Get A Medical Card In Mississippi?

By November or December of 2022, residents in Mississippi who fall under the 22 Debilitating Medical Conditions currently being accepted, will be able to apply to receive a medical marijuana card, and can then use their card to purchase medical cannabis products at licensed dispensaries.

How Much Does a Mississippi Medical Marijuanas Card Cost?

Mississippi Medical Marijuanas Cards Cost $25 + Physician Fees.

The medical cannabis card application fee is $25 due to MSSDOH for the initial application and $25 for every renewal. Patients who are considered disabled veterans, or disabled first responders, who have documentation noting them as such, may apply for the application fee to be waived.

How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Medical Card?

Minors under the age of 21 can only qualify for the medical cannabis program with parental or guardian consent. Additionally parents and guardians are responsible for controlling the administration of cannabis as well as its dosage. Minor patients will also be unable to enter a dispensary without a parent or guardian present.

Frequently Asked Questions About Mississippi Medical Marijuanas Cards

How Do You Get a Medical Card In Mississippi?

To get a medical card in Mississippi, qualifying patients must obtain a recommendation from a licensed Mississippi medical marijuanas doctor, and register with the state. Once a state-issued card has been obtained, a registered patient may purchase and possess up to 3.5 ounces of cannabis per month.

Regulators are expected to start issuing licenses to grow and sell medical marijuana in June, 2022.

Can You Own A Gun With A Medical Card In Mississippi?

No, you cannot own a gun in Mississippi if you are a registered medical cannabis user. While medical marijuana is legal for medicinal use in MS, it still remains illegal at the federal level as of September 2022.

As such, anyone in MS with a license to use cannabis is not allowed to possess or purchase firearms and ammunition.

Can I Get Fired For Using My Medical Marijuana Card, Even Though It's Legal?

The Mississippi Medical Marijuana Initiative 65 does not affect an employer’s ability to restrict the use of marijuana by employees. You can still be fired for cannabis consumption if your job prohibits it. Please confirm with your employer’s rules concerning the use of medical marijuana for their employees.

If I Hold A Medical Marijuanas Card, Will My Employer Know?

Only you and your medical marijuana physician who certifies you will know that you are a Mississippi medical marijuana patient, as this is protected under HIPAA. It is under the discretion of your employer to drug test, and will ultimately be their say if they recognize your medical card as a form of medication.

What Are The 22 Debilitating Medical Conditions In Mississippi?

The 22 debilitating medical conditions in Mississippi approved under the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act include:

Before Visiting a Medical Marijuana Dispensary In Mississippi, You Must Meet All Of The Following Qualifications:

#1

Have a current diagnosis of a qualifying condition

#3

Be a Mississippi resident with proof of residency

#2

Hold an official written certification from a physician

#4

You must be 18 years of age or older

Possession & Purchase Limits

Possession restrictions and purchase limits in Mississippi are calculated based on Medical Cannabis Equivalancy Units (MCEUs) instead of measurements such as grams and ounces. You may not posess more than 28 MCEUs of cannabis or cannabis based products at a time. This is equal to 98 grams, which is less than 3.5 ounces of dried marijuana flower.

Essentially you can purchase in a day up to 3.5 grams of flower, one- 100mg THC infused product, or one product containing 1 gram of cannabis concentrates. 

Additionally you are restricted to the following purchase guidelines:

  • Patients cannot purchase more than six MCEUs in a week (which is approximately 21 grams, or less than ¾ of an ounce of dried flower)
  • Patients cannot purchase more than 24 MCEUs in a week (which is approximately 84 grams, or less than three ounces of dried flower)
  • Patients cannot purchase more than 24 MCEUs in a week (which is approximately 84 grams, or less than three ounces of dried flower)

In addition to possession and purchase limits, the following limitations also apply to medical cannabis program patients:

  • Patients cannot smoke or vaporize in vehicles or public places.
  • You may not drive, operate a boat, train, or aircraft, or undertake any task that would be negligent or entail professional malpractice while under the influence of cannabis.

 

*Landlords are not prohibited from banning tenants from using medical cannabis at home.

Potency Restrictions

Currently patients can purchase cannabis oil containing only 0.5% THC under Harper Grace’s Law. When patients are able to apply to the new medical program and dispensaries are available, cannabis flower must not exceed 30% of THC levels and tinctures, oils, and concentrates may not exceed 60% THC. Additionally, all cannabis products from a dispensary must have a “notice of harm” marked on the packaging.

How Long Will My Marijuana Card Certification Be Valid?

Your marijuana certification is good for a year. The certification shall remain current for twelve months, unless the physician specifies a shorter period of time, and shall be issued only after an in-person examination of the patient in Mississippi.

Reciprocity

A patient with a diagnosis of a debilitating condition and a medical marijuana card from their home state can apply for a nonresident ID card up to 30 days before they arrive in Mississippi. The cards are valid for 15 days and can be renewed, though only for a total of two 15-day periods every 365 days.

Nonresidents can purchase the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 12 days in a 15-day period. They can possess a maximum of 49 grams.  

Cultivation Rules

Patients or caretakers will not be allowed to grow their own marijuanas in Mississippi when the program begins.

Lab testing

MDOH will set up rules for testing cannabis. Most states test for mold, pesticides, residual solvents, and other harmful substances.

Where Is It Safe To Purchase?

It will be safe to purchase cannabis at dispensaries once MDOR has begun issuing licenses.

Patients can purchase the daily limit (3.5 grams of flower, 1 gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product) for six days in one week or 24 days in a 30-day period. 

Where Is It Safe To Consume?

Smoking, dabbing, or vaping in public or in a vehicle is prohibited. MMJ cardholders can only use their marijuana in a private residence. It is against the law to consume it in public. It is unlawful for any person to smoke medical marijuana in a public place. Any person who violates this subsection may, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).

Frequently Asked Questions About Mississippi Medical Marijuanas Doctors

If you live in Mississippi and have any of the 22 debilitating medical conditions approved by the State, for which feel you that might benefit from medicinal marijuanas use, you are most likely eligible.

If you are interested in speaking with a healthcare provider licensed by the State to prescribe medical marijuanas, you can find the nearest medical marijuanas provider in Mississippi near you here. 

No, since you are a medical patient, you are covered by HIPAA. My Marijuana Cards prioritizes the safety and security of our patients’ sensitive information. No one will be able to determine your status as a medical marijuana patient unless you publicly inform them or are subjected to a marijuana drug test.

No. Unfortunately, as of September 2022, medical marijuana is still not Federally legal. As such, insurance companies will not cover any of the associated costs at this time. With Federal legalization not too far off though, this could definitely be a possibility in the future once recreational use is approved on the Federal level in the U.S.

You cannot arrange an appointment with our doctor at this time, but you can join our waitlist to be notified when we are taking appointments.

The prescribing physician will evaluate you and your specific eligibility, check any supporting medical paperwork you bring, and analyze your medical history.

Each assessment appointment will vary on a case-by-case basis, and will be dependent on your medical history, the amount of supporting documents you bring, etc. However, the average appointment will typically last around 15-20 minutes.

No. In order to certify patients for a medical marijuanas card in Mississippi, healthcare providers must have a valid license to practice medicine in Mississippi and be registered and approved by the State to provide marijuanas specific treatment.

Legal medical marijuanas patients in Mississippi will be allowed to purchase medicinal cannabis products from any licensed dispensary in the state. They will also be allowed to use their card in states that grant reciprocity.

When meeting with a prescribing physician, you should bring:

1. A valid picture ID

2. Proof to verify your debilitating or chronic qualifying medical condition is required. The more verifiable proof you can bring, the better. Som things you should try to bring with you include:

  • medical records
  • medicine bottles
  • office visit summaries
  • or a note from your primary care doctor

 

However, you can still obtain certification if you don’t have any current medical documents. Your prescribing doctor will be able to go over alternatives with you during your consultation.

Employment And Medical Marijuanas

Only you and your medical marijuana physician who certifies you will know that you are a Mississippi medical marijuana patient, as this is protected under HIPAA. It is under the discretion of your employer to drug test, and will ultimately be their say if they recognize your medical card as a form of medication.

The Mississippi Medical Marijuana Initiative 65 does not affect an employer’s ability to restrict the use of marijuana by employees. You can still be fired for cannabis consumption if your job prohibits it. Please confirm with your employer’s rules concerning the use of medical marijuana for their employees.

Yes. Because Mississippi is an at-will state and there is presently no law in place to safeguard medical marijuana users in the workplace, medical cardholders may still be subjected to drug tests and face disciplinary action based on the findings of such tests. As a result, before proceeding with the procedure, we urge that you be completely informed of your employer’s policies on drug testing and medicinal marijuana.

Medical Marijuanas & Law Enforcement

You are protected as a licensed medicinal marijuana patient. Patients are not required to report their possession of medicinal marijuana and are not required to agree to a search. If a search is undertaken and medicinal marijuana is discovered, the patient must immediately provide their patient ID card or lead law enforcement to the state database to demonstrate that they are a licensed patient.

Yes. Medical marijuana is treated the same as alcohol use in the eyes of the law. Anyone who is caught under the influence of medical marijuana while operating or being in physical control of any motor vehicle, train, aircraft, motorboat, or other motorized forms of transportation while under the influence of marijuana, could face criminal offenses as it is still illegal under the current law.

Mississippi Medical Marijuanas Dispensary FAQ

Mississippi Dispensaries will open near the end of 2022, with current estimates stating November or December 2022.

There is no numerical cap on the number of dispensaries that are allowed to open in Mississippi.

However, no individual or business may have more than 10% ownership interest in more than the following:

  • 1 cultivation license
  • 1 processing license
  • and up to 4 dispensaries

 

Using Marijuanas As Medicine

Medical marijuana is nothing new, as research has been carried out over decades to see how it can be used to treat various conditions. THC has been shown to be effective in treating nausea and vomiting in patients with cancer.

Many countries have approved medicine derived from cannabis, including the United States, Europe, Canada, and Canada. This includes pills, sprays, and liquids that contain THC. These medicines have been proven to be more effective than the entire marijuana plant for medical purposes. This is because medical marijuana must first be purified.

Most people use marijuana for pain relief. Medical marijuana is not strong enough for painkillers that have been prescribed following surgery. But, it can help with chronic aches or pains, especially as they relate to aging. Mississippi Medical Marijuanas isn’t as addictive as opioids and works as an alternative to ibuprofen or paracetamol. The use of marijuana is to treat nausea and vomiting in cancer patients. These patients, along with others suffering from AIDS or anorexia, can also benefit from the stimulation of their appetites.